Diploma of Aeroskills (Mechanical) - MEA50219

Nationally Recognised Course

Course Description:

The Diploma of Aeroskills (Mechanical) course is designed for clients seeking a Civil Aviation Safety Authority (CASA) B1 Aircraft Maintenance Engineer Licence. This qualification covers the supervision, performance and certification of airframe, engine, electrical and structural maintenance on aircraft that are type-rated by CASA for maintenance purposes.  On successful completion students will be eligible to apply to CASA for a Part 66 Aircraft Maintenance Engineer licence, due to individual circumstances this course does not guarantee a successful application and licence outcome.

This qualification consists of common and technical stream units required at a Certificate IV level in the aircraft maintenance stream, common and mechanical technical stream units at a Diploma level. The Diploma level units of competency will cover supervisor level work health and safety (WHS), licence privileges, advanced fault diagnosis and aircraft weighing and weight and balance calculations. This qualification provides a number of credits towards a Diploma of Aviation Maintenance Management (Mechanical) - MEA50418 and an Advanced Diploma of Aviation Maintenance Management (Mechanical) - MEA60218. 

There are four (4) subcategories associated with this qualification for maintenance on combinations of aeroplanes, helicopters, gas turbine and piston engines:

  • B1.1 - Fixed-wing aeroplane with gas turbine engines
  • B1.2 - Fixed-wing aeroplane with piston engines
  • B1.3 - Rotary-wing helicopter with gas turbine engines
  • B1.4 - Rotary-wing helicopter with piston engines 

Please Note: Under the latest version of the Diploma of Aeroskills (Mechanical) released September 2019 there is now a pathway to a B1.2 or B1.4 licence, which was not the case under the previous version.

Practical Experience Requirements:

As outlined in the CASA Part 66 Manual of Standards section 66.A.30; an applicant for an aircraft engineer licence must have acquired the following practical maintenance experience in carrying out maintenance on operating aircraft:

  • B1.1 and B1.3 - Two (2) years practical experience (if they have completed a category training course with an Maintenance Training Organisation).
  • B1.2 and B1.4 - One (1) year practical experience (if they have completed a category training course with an Maintenance Training Organisation).

At least one (1) year of the practical maintenance experience required for an initial issue of an aircraft engineer licence (as listed above) must be:

  • Maintenance experience on aircraft relevant to the category or subcategory for which the licence was sought; and
  • Accumulated immediately before making the application for the licence  

For more information regarding the Diploma of Aeroskills (Mechanical) course, please contact ATS Administration or visit training.gov.au for a full course overview. 

Do you have knowledge or experience in the aviation industry, whether formal or informal, obtained during your working career? If so ask us how you can obtain a Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) and get credits towards your training.

Unique Student Identifier:

Have you got your Unique Student Identifier (USI)?

The USI (Unique Student Identifier) is a nationally recognized reference number made up of ten (10) numbers and letters that:

  • Creates a secure online record of your recognized training and qualifications gained in Australia
  • Grants access to your training records and transcripts
  • Online accessibility
  • Free and easily created
  • Lifetime records 

If you have not created or been granted a USI click here and create one today.

Unit of Competency:

To complete the Diploma of Aeroskills (Mechanical) you must complete the following Units of Competencies:

MEA50219 Diploma of Aeroskills (Mechanical)

Total of thirty-six (36) to forty-three (43) units depending on your selected subcategory

  • Core Diploma level common, technical stream and imported units: Eleven (11) units
  • Core Certificate IV common and technical stream units: Seventeen (17) units
  • Elective technical stream units from Group A (required for CASA B1.1 Licence) : Thirteen (13) or Fifteen (15) units
  • Elective technical stream units from Group B (required for CASA B1.2 Licence) : Thirteen (13) units
  • Elective technical stream units from Group C (required for CASA B1.3 Licence) : Eight (8) units 
  • Elective technical stream units from Group D (required for CASA B1.4 Licence) : Seven (7) units

Please Note: For a breakdown of the Units of Competencies for the CASA B1.1, B1.2, B1.3 or B1.4 Licences click here.

Due to individual circumstances, Aerospace Training Services does not guarantee that successful completion of the above courses will result in a CASA Part 66 licence being issued.

Prospective students who have a medically significant condition that could be safety-relevant should contact CASA prior to enrolling. When applying for a licence any medical condition that is safety relevant must be disclosed and specified by the applicant as part of the licence application to CASA.

Please see the Civil Aviation Safety Regulations parts 66 & 67, or the CASA website for details and guidance material for licence applications.

Apprenticeships Training|Aviation (Cabin Crew)|CASA Part 66 Licence|HSC Training|Life Support and Furnishing|